Thanks for stopping by! If you can't see what you're looking for, or want us to source a record, give us a call on 0113 245 5570 :)

Music Search

Various Artists - This Is Mod

LP: £18.99

Label: BGP

Release date: 29.03.2024

In Stock and Available For Dispatch

Further Information

“This Is Mod” is part of a new series aimed at vinyl buyers who wants a genre specific compilation to excite their ears. Two sides of fantastic music, at an affordable price, cherry picked from Ace and its associated catalogues. Compiled by Dean Rudland, who also writes the liner notes, “This Is Mod” takes you to the darkened cellars of Soho, where everyone is wearing the sharpest clothes and dancing to the finest most danceable sounds from Black America. Soul, R&B and a touch of jazz are the order of the day. Within the grooves we have gritty southern soul from Clarence Carter and Jimmy Hughes, the sound of Memphis courtesy of James Carr, Danny White and Timmy Thomas, and R&B from Lowell Fulsom and Richard Berry. There's also nascent northern soul from, amongst others, Mary Love and Darrow Fletcher, making “This Is Mod” perfect intro for those who want the best music to go with their mohair.

Bang on tracklisting from Dean Rudland giving the light of day of vinyl from these rare but brilliant diamonds. These cuts were either played in clubs back in the early days of Mod and 6T's or are current spins on the scene. A total dynamite collection of Jazz, R&B and soul groovers.

By Matt

Track Listing

01 Looking For A Fox - Clarence Carter

02 Money (That's What I Want) - Lonnie Mack & The Charmaines

03 Hi Heel Sneakers - Jimmy Hughes

04 Camel Walk - The Ikettes

05 Have Love Will Travel - Richard Berry & The Pharaohs

06 Sundown - The Merced Blue Notes

07 Talkin' Woman - Lowell Fulsom

Side 2

01 The Pain Gets A Little Deeper - Darrow Fletcher

02 Lay This Burden Down - Mary Love

03 Keep My Woman Home - Danny White

04Elijah Rockin' With Soul (45 Version) - Hank Jacobs

05 Coming Back To Me Baby - James Carr

06 I Can't Stop (No, No, No) - Arthur Conley

07 It's My Life - Timmy Thomas



Want to receive all the latest News from Jumbo straight to your inbox