Thanks for stopping by! If you can't see what you're looking for or want us to source a record just get in touch!

Music Search

Matt Berninger - Serpentine Prison

LP: £19.99

Release date: 16.10.2020

In Stock and Available For Dispatch

Further Information

Serpentine Prison, the debut solo record from Matt Berninger—front man of internationally acclaimed group The National. It's soulful, poetic and understated. The album, produced by renowned Memphis multi-instrumentalist Booker T. Jones (of Booker T. and The MG’s fame) and released via Book Records, a new imprint formed by Berninger and Jones in conjunction with Concord Records. The album features contributions from a wide array of notable artists, including Matt Barrick (The Walkmen, Jonathan Fire*Eater), Andrew Bird, Mike Brewer, Hayden Desser, Scott Devendorf (The National), Gail Ann Dorsey (David Bowie, Lenny Kravitz), Booker T. Jones, Teddy Jones, Brent Knopf (EL VY, Menomena), Ben Lanz (The National, Beirut), Walter Martin (The Walkmen, Jonathan Fire*Eater), Sean O'Brien, Mickey Raphael (Willie Nelson, Bob Dylan), Kyle Resnick (The National, Beirut), Matt Sheehy (EL VY, Lost Lander) and Harrison Whitford (Phoebe Bridgers). Additional production on the album was provided by Sean O’Brien.

After two decades of recording essential albums with The National it’s amazing that Berninger is still hitting out with albums of this calibre. ‘Serpentine Prison’ treats us to an intimate, quiet Matt thanks to acoustic instrumentation and stripped-back production bringing us closer to the poetry of his lyrics.

By Martha Boyd

Track Listing

1. My Eyes Are T-Shirts

2. Distant Axis

3. One More Second

4. Loved So Little

5. Silver Springs

6. Oh Dearie

7. Take Me Out of Town

8. Collar Of Your Shirt

9. All For Nothing

10. Serpentine Prison




Want to receive all the latest News from Jumbo straight to your inbox