Thanks for stopping by! If you can't see what you're looking for, or want us to source a record, give us a call on 0113 245 5570 :)

Music Search

Ed Harcourt - El Magnifico

CD: £10.99

Label: Deathless

Release date: 29.03.2024

Further Information

Making his debut with the Mercury Prize-nominated ‘Here Be Monsters’ in 2001, Harcourt has released music under his own name that blends raw emotions, impeccable songwriting and visionary flights of imagination. A succession of ten rich, enthralling albums have followed that first spark of his, including the intoxicating addictive ‘Strangers’ in 2004; 2013’s breathless ‘Back Into The Woods’ which was recorded in just eight hours; and ‘Furnaces’ which compellingly and entreatingly envisioned family ties confronted by the small matter of the apocalypse. After that LP in 2016, Harcourt then moved to explore the instrumental sphere with recent soundscape albums ‘Beyond The End’ and ‘Monochrome To Colour’. While recognisably bearing all the hallmarks that have made him such an admired and prolific songwriter, one of Britain’s most cherished yet inventive music creators, Ed’s new record, ‘El Magnifico’, also finds him striving for something new. It is an Ed Harcourt record, but one with a desire to seek fresh reward. With his body of work to date, it would be foolhardy for Harcourt not to lean on his artistic foundations, not just as a solo artist, but as an acclaimed music-maker in a variety of guises. His creativity has stretched beyond his own impressive catalogue too. Consistently inspired by the power of collaboration, as a writer, producer and, often, one-man backing band, he has aided the musical visions of the likes of Afghan Whigs, Lissie, Jamie Cullum, The Libertines and Marianne Faithfull, plus has worked with an array of fast-rising new talents. He has also engaged closely with filmmakers, scoring movies and documentaries and is a member of the gloriously louche, sonically hard bitten rock trio Loup Garoux. With that array of creativity fizzing behind him, Harcourt enjoys a spectrum-spanning number of outlets of expression, ensuring his bountiful creativity and cascading of ideas always find an appropriately unique home. And ‘El Magnifico’ is the beneficiary of this immense scope and musical insight.

Track Listing

1. 1987

2. Into The Loving Arms Of Your Enemy

3. Broken Keys

4. Strange Beauty

5. The Violence Of The Rose

6. Ghost Ship

7. Deathless

8. Anvils & Hammers

9. My Heart Can’t Keep Up With My Mind

10. At The Dead Of The World

11. Seraphina

12. El Magnifico



Want to receive all the latest News from Jumbo straight to your inbox