Thanks for stopping by! If you can't see what you're looking for or want us to source a record just get in touch!

Music Search

Bodega - Broken Equipment

CD: £14.99

Label: What's You Rupture?

Release date: 11.03.2022

In Stock and Available For Dispatch

Further Information

The follow-up to the band's acclaimed debut album, Endless Scroll (2018), and 2019's Shiny New Model EP, Broken Equipment was inspired by a book club. In the early months of 2020, the Brooklyn art-punk incendiaries gathered together with close friends to study the works of a wide range of philosophers. Passionate debates lasting long into the night became a regular occurrence, motivating the band to become as ideologically unified as the weighty tomes they were reading. Broken Equipment is BODEGA’s attempt to interrogate the external factors that make them who they are, propelling existential quandaries with tongue-in-cheek humour, highly personal lyrics, and irresistible grooves. Since BODEGA’s formation in 2016, Ben and Nikki (who previously played together in the band BODEGA BAY) have experienced a rare meteoric rise. The duo double as filmmakers, earning acclaim for their 2020 erotic drama PVT Chat starring Peter Vack, Julia Fox, and other recognizable faces from the Safdie Brothers’ cinematic universe. When the pandemic forced them to hit pause, they used the opportunity to regroup with drummer/performance artist Tai Lee, bassist/book club leader Adam See, and lead guitarist Dan Ryan. Broken Equipment was produced by Ben himself with Bobby Lewis, BODEGA’s NYC live sound mixer. The record was mixed by Bryce Goggin, whom the band sought out for his work with Pavement, and Adam Sachs (WIVES). The album’s 12 songs are set in present day New York City, packing in references to contemporary issues of algorithmic targeting, media gentrification, and the band itself. On 'NYC (disambiguation)', they break down how the Big Apple was “founded by a corporation” and history remains alive in the present. The poetic 'Pillar on the Bridge of You' is the first love song Ben ever wrote for Nikki, while 'All Past Lovers' gazes back to the “southern belle” and “chat room suitor” who still live inside him today.

We’ve been waiting for more from BODEGA since their highly catchy debut Endless Scroll and finally it’s almost here! BODEGA have replaced their focus on hooks, found in the likes of ‘Jack in Titanic’, with a concentration on social commentary. 'Doers’ from the new album comments on the toxicity of forced productivity, yet still sounds as fun as the BODEGA we know and love.  

FFO: Parquet Courts, Omni, Working Men’s Club, Do Nothing.  

By Martha Boyd

Track Listing

1. Thrown

2. Doers

3. Territorial Call of the Female

4. NYC (disambiguation)

5. Statuette on the Console

6. C.I.R.P.

7. Pillar on the Bridge of You

8. How Can I Help Ya?

9. No Blade of Grass

10. All Past Lovers

11. Seneca the Stoic

12. After Jane

More by this artist



Want to receive all the latest News from Jumbo straight to your inbox