OPENING HOURS - MON/TUES/WED/THURS 9.30am - 5.30pm | FRI/SAT 9.00am - 5.30pm | SUN 11.00am - 5.00pm

Music Search

Avalanches - Wildflower (+CD)

2 x LP: £19.99

Label: XL Recordings

Release date: 08.07.2016

Further Information

Following an unprecedented sixteen-year gap between albums and all the revolutions the world has made since the release of their hugely acclaimed, award winning debut album ‘Since I Left You’ (2000), The Avalanches announce their new album, ‘Wildflower’, featuring Danny Brown, MF Doom, Father John Misty, Toro Y Moi, Jennifer Herrema, Biz Markie and more. Created by the band’s core duo - Robbie Chater and Tony Di Blasi - ‘Wildflower’ is nothing less than The Beach Boys’ ‘Smile’ reimagined in the Daisy Age; a mind-bending cartoon road movie that’s best viewed with closed eyes and an open mind. Lead track ‘Frankie Sinatra’ is an infectious old world carnival inspired rollercoaster of a song. Featuring Danny Brown and MF Doom on vocals, the song also includes works by calypsonian Wilmoth Houdini and Rodgers & Hammerstein. In the years since the release of ‘Since I Left You’ the album has established a rarely seen loyalty, its influence ever growing in the age of digital music, sampling and bedroom producers. The Avalanches, meanwhile, have become the stuff of folklore, with rumours abounding about a long awaited follow-up record. Today the rumours end.

More by this artist



Want to receive all the latest News from Jumbo straight to your inbox