Thanks for stopping by! If you can't see what you're looking for, or want us to source a record, give us a call on 0113 245 5570 :)

Music Search

Various Artists (Bob Stanley & Jason Woods) - FANTASTIC VOYAGE: NEW SOUNDS FOR THE EUROPEAN CANON 1977-1981

2 x LP: £29.99

Label: Ace Records

Release date: 26.01.2024

In Stock and Available For Dispatch

CD: £12.99

Label: Ace Records

Release date: 26.01.2024

In Stock and Available For Dispatch

Further Information

By the turn of the 80s, the impact of David Bowie’s ground-breaking Berlin recordings – the synths, the alienation, the drily futuristic production - was being felt on music across Europe. What’s more, the records being made were reflecting back and influencing Bowie’s own work – 1979’s “Lodger” and 1980’s “Scary Monsters” owed a debt to strands of German kosmische (Holger Czukay), new electronica (Patrick Cowley, Harald Grosskopf), and the latest works from old friends and rivals like Robert Fripp, Peter Gabriel and Scott Walker, all of whom had been re-energised by the fizz of 1977. Compiled by Saint Etienne’s Bob Stanley and the BFI’s Jason Wood, “Fantastic Voyage” is the companion album to their hugely successful “Café Exil” collection, which imagined the soundtrack to David Bowie and Iggy Pop’s trans-European train journeys in the mid-to-late seventies. “Fantastic Voyage” is what happened next. Bowie’s influences and Bowie’s own influence were rebounding off each other as the 70s ended and the 80s began, notably in the emergent synthpop and new romantic scenes as well as through the music of enigmatic acts like the Associates and post-punk pioneers like Cabaret Voltaire. Like “Low” and “Heroes”, some of the tracks on “Fantastic Voyage” are spiked with tension (Grauzone’s ‘Eisbär’) while some share those albums’ sense of travel (Simple Minds’ ‘Theme for Great Cities’, Ryuichi Sakamoto’s ‘Riot in Lagos’) and others find common ground with “Lodger’s” dark, subtle humour (Thomas Leer’s ‘Tight as a Drum’, Fripp’s ‘Exposure’). This is the thrilling, adventurous sound of European music before the watershed moment when Bowie would abandon art-pop for America and the emerging world of MTV with “Let’s Dance” in 1983. “Fantastic Voyage” soundtracks the few brief years when the echo chamber of Bowie, his inspirations, and his followers created an exciting, borderless music that was more than ready for a challenge to Anglo American influences.

Immeccably put together, Bob Stanley And Jason Woods offer us another vision of awe inspiring music melded together through a European lens. Forays into Ambient, electronica and synth-led grooves. There's jazz and electro, spacial proto-triphop and studio experimentation but EVERY track on here is a winner that warmly grabs your musical funny-bone. A beautiful follow-up to their Cafe Exil compilation and highly recommended.

By Adam

Track Listing

Side 1

01 Theme For Great Cities - Simple Minds

02 Silent Command - Cabaret Voltaire

03 Riot In Lagos - Ryuichi Sakamoto

04 Eisbar - Grauzone

Side 2

01 White Car In Germany - The Associates

02 Nightcrawler - Patrick Cowley

03 On A Trouvé - Isabelle Mayereau

04 3,000,000 Synths - Chas Jankel

Side 3

01 No Self Control - Peter Gabriel

02 Nite Flights - The Walker Brothers

03 Tight As A Drum - Thomas Leer

04 The Farther Away I Am - Daryl Hall

05 So Weit, So Gut - Harald Grosskopf

Side 4

01 Exposure - Robert Fripp

02 Patriarcat - Areski Belkacem & Brigitte Fontaine

03 Silicon Chip - Basil Kirchin




Want to receive all the latest News from Jumbo straight to your inbox